Reclaiming India: Views of Public Intellectuals



The last few years have been marked by a consistent attack on the democratic matrix of our country. Constitutional and human rights of people, most notably––the fundamental right to equality, the right to live with dignity, to question the state and dissent––have been trampled with impunity. Institutions of oversight have been systematically emaciated, with the functioning of the Parliament gravely compromised.

Rise of fascism and crony capitalism, and the concomitant increase in violence in society have had a devastating impact on the lives of people, especially those belonging to the Dalit, Adivasi, Muslim and other marginalised communities. The COVID-19 crisis too has exposed manifold the apathetic and anti-poor nature of the state.

Amidst the oppression and intimidation, however, the country has witnessed strong peoples’ movements against injustice and tyranny. In December 2019, people all over India rose to protect the Constitution when the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) was brought in along with National Register of Citizens (NRC) and National Population Register (NPR). Exactly one year after the CAA protests shook the country, millions of farmers took to the streets to protest against the anti-people farm laws passed by the Parliament.

Reclaiming India: Views of Public Intellectuals is the culmination of a public lecture series organised by ANHAD in 2021-22; it hopes to start a conversation to explore the contours of a society that is more just, equal and aligned to the Constitutional values of liberty and fraternity. The lectures, on relevant themes by leading public intellectuals, as under, will provide an alternate vision for the country.

Abirami Jotheeswaran Aditya Mukherjee Anand Patwardhan
Anjali Bhardwaj Ashok Vajpeyi D Raja
Dhruv Raina Enakshi Ganguly Gautam Menon
Hartosh Singh Bal K Srinath Reddy Mogallan Bharti
Mridula Mukherjee Nivedita Menon Prashant Bhushan
Romila Thapar S Irfan Habib Shashi Tharoor
Sukumar Muralidharan T M Krishna Tehmina Arora

Honourable Association